Adjusting the gain in my kenwood head unit

Participant count
  • Participants list

Nick Miles

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hey guys I'm fairly new to car audio but I need to find the source of my system having really high pitchy ness when the high notes are hit on just about any song at decently high volume. I talked with a friend of mine he said first adjust the EQ to lower the right part of the line graph down which is whta I believe the treble. I did this by lowering them from high 9/9 all the way down to zero at the very rightmost part of it. Then he told me to lower the gain. So I have a few questions with this.

Which gain is he talking about? Because I've narrated through and I found the DTE gain and I also found the gain for front left front right rear right and rear left as well as the sub in the crossover and also the tweeter. I don't wanna mess with this too much until I know what I'm doing for sure because I don't wanna blow my speakers out since they are already clipping pretty bad. I had adjusted all the gains to -3db from zero I hope I didn't do something wrong.

I'm using a Kenwood KDC-X303 cd receiver. Let me know thanks again for reading.

Last edited by a moderator:
Could you elaborate on what you mean by "really high pitchy ness ?" Like is it just too loud on the high notes, are you hearing distortion, or something else? Is the volume otherwise to your liking if not for this issue (I.e. Are you having to max it out.) Also, are you running any other aftermarket equipment? Since you originally had the right side of the EQ maxed out, it may be helpful to know what all of those settings are currently at.