Are amp filters less important with a DSP headunit??

Participant count
  • Participant list

LoudSound

Senior VIP Member
Toronto
Hello guys, my 2nd post. I'm pretty much a total noob at caraudio so please bare with me. Trying to gather info before I buy an amp for my 4 front speakers.

I don't see why I Need to use redundant filters that try to accomplish the same task on both devices. In my understanding, I must have an idea of how I'm gonna need filters set on a particular speaker and the headunit filters should be paired with amp filters to create bandpass type filter but shouldn't be used redundantly. Am I correct?

in other words, I shouldn't have 100hz hpf set on the headunit and 100hz hpf set on the amp? right? my "mentor" is telling me to get an amp with "good" filters but I'm not sure what "good" filters are. This is just for a 2way front stage I'm building. Allz I gotta do is set hpf on the mids at like 100-200hz depends how loud I wanna play them, possibly not even use LPF because they play to 6-7k.. and just set hpf on the HU for the tweeter at like 6khz, should be good to go. the tweeters have a built in 4.5khz 2nd octave crosover, so that'll act as a 2nd wall against tweets playing mids, and destroying themselves.

I don't see why I Need to use redundant filters that try to accomplish the same task on both devices. In my understanding, I must have an idea of how I'm gonna need filters set on a particular speaker and the headunit filters should be paired with amp filters to create bandpass type filter but shouldn't be used redundantly. Am I correct?