Budget SQ sub?

octopunch

boston
This is my first time doing anything with card audio. I don't need the loudest I can get, but want to get good quality low bass for

I'm looking at speakers like dayton RSS315HO-4, but its $150. But maybe I'm better off getting 2 12s with lower power? Dayton has a 250w rms 12'' for $80. Don't know much about speakers, just saw those being mentioned here.

As for the enclosure would a sealed one make sense? I could buy a sealed enclosure online, which would be easy. But it seems like ported ones need to be just the right size, meaning I'd have to build one myself.. Would a ported enclosure tuned low be better? I have a 2012 Maxda 3, want to put it in the trunk facing the seats, the measurements are below:

Number of subs preferred: 1-2

Size preferred (if configuration allows): 12

Budget:

Power to be used (which amp(s), include which resistance): 1000w (looking at PPI P1000.1 as people seem to recommend it here)

Space available (take measurements, do not guess): 16''h x 28''d x 41''w

Goals: Good sounding, low bass

Listening habits: mix of hip hop / electronic

Preferred brands/subs/whatever: none, but like the look of the daytons because they're just plain black.

Facing the seats is the worst position you can have the subs in. Always face the rear of the trunk if its in a trunk car. you can go sealed thats fine. A single dayton HO 15 would be good on that power. Build a ported box.

Tune around 32 to 35hz for your genre. Electronic doesnt hit that low and hip hop doesnt go too low either. Mostly bass re-made music actually goes down below 30hz.

Free box designs here. Go with 3.5 cubic feet or around there.

*OFFICIAL* Free Ported Box Plans (56k NO!!) - Dodge SRT Forum

Technically you can do two 15s too with that space

e7PAu.jpg