Cheap Audio System for car?

kenneyk843

Hi all, glad to be here. I've been doing my own car audio for a few years, but I'm here to ask a quick question. I just have my girlfriend my old car (1997 Chev Malibu LS) and I want to build her a cheap sound system that will sound a bit better than stock. I'll be leaving the stock speakers as they sound really decent for stock speakers (the rear 6x9's have a good sound) and I already installed an aftermarket deck. The deck I have in there is an Alpine head unit with USB input and iPod control, Bluetooth, Aux and CD. Had in in a couple vehicles and it's a great little deck. The car is wired for subs as I had my own subs and amp in there before, but took them out to put in my SUV. My question is before I go to find a box for the sub I have, will this setup give a little bit of a better thump than stock:

Jensen XS10 10" Sub ($1 at a garage sale)

Pyramid 300W Mono Amplifier (was given to me a few years ago)

Now I realize that neither of these are high quality, but actually bottom of the barrel, but she doesn't have much extra money to spend and I'm trying to make it cheap for her. I have both this sub and amp and just wondering if it will work decently to make the sound system a bit better. Thanks!