Need Guidance for designing my upgrades, Thanks in advance

Participant count
  • Participant list

johnnyrokz

Hi All.

I'm brand new to the site. I have a decent sounding system in my 2002 Ford F350 Crew Cab Diesel that I have built piece by piece over the years. I am definitely an amatuer car audio guy but understand quite a bit about the physics of sound as I am a drummer, and sound board operator, and general audiophile all the way around. I have been wanting to upgrade my low end for a while and upgrade my amplifiers while I am at it. Right now I have a really great Eclipse CD 3404 Deck, (2) 12" CVR Kickers, one in a box I built and is in back behind seat and one downfired under jump seat in front, they are being powered by a Memphis Audio 300-2. I have (2) Kenwood 6x9 in front doors and (2) Pioneer 4x10 in rear and they are being powered by a Clarion amp I picked up pretty cheap. I listen to rock and metal and love that clean hard hitting bass and the crystal clear guitars..So I was wondering if you all could help me out on my new design cause guys at audio stores around here are giving me a different story all the time.

(1)I was thinking about a custom made enclosure for down firing the subs under back seat..(?) Who are the best manufacturers for these and what material is the best (i.e. I have heard fiberglass, poly, and standard MDF)

(2) How many subs and what brand are ideal for what I desire (I remember hearing a truck one time with (4) 8" downfired subs and it rocked)

(3) What are the best amplifiers for running the setup and will they come with specs for guage of power supply wires and fusing.

(4)I am looking to bench the Clarion amp and use the Memphis amp to run my four door speakers, it is only a two channel amp but could I use y's? It seems there should be plenty of power but don't know if I can Y off for four speakers and what kind of audio quality loss I will be looking at.