Need help building complete system Honda del sol

Participant count
  • Participant list

Pattycake6

Hi, I'm new to the forum and new to car audio, so if this is in the wrong place or I'm braking any rules feel free to call me out. My last 4 cars have had stock systems in them. I just picked up a 1995 del sol project car and the sound system in completely gutted so I need a new head unit, speakers, and hopefully a sub or two. I don't know what I will need to get good sound quality for a decent price so I'll give a little background info. I'm a college student working a minimum wage job so I would prefer this to be a budget build. I don't mean dirt cheap junk I just mean relatively cheap components with good bang for my buck(interpret that how you want). I listen to a little bit of everything when it comes to music. Mostly rap, rock and country in that order. I am a bit of a bass head so keep that in mind as well. My only real requirement is that I want to put my subs behind the seat in the cabin so I can keep my trunk space. Any suggestions for speaker and sub sizes and specs, and good head units would be appreciated. I'm pretty good with fabrication so if I need to build sub and speaker boxes that is not a problem. Thanks for reading and I appreciate any help!

is there a rear deck ? show us a pic of where you want a sub to go maby.

might be able to do something called infinate baffle / trunk baffle

where there is no box at all - but the sub mounts between the wall of the trunk / rear deck area - and you seal off the trunk completely from the car and the entire trunk acts as a box. from what i hear its pretty musical and sounds great - but is not the absolute loudest... but other benefits are low power requirments so a cheapie 250w amp from anywehre ( pawn shop / flea market ) should power a sub or 2 mounted infinate baffle on the rear deck real good for you.