Ok, I have a noob question....

UPCguy
10+ year member

Ohio
Ok, so I am a noob, but I was looking at some Pioneer speakers for my 1995 Chevy Beretta. The fronts use 4x6, the back takes 6x9. So I found some Pioneers, the ones in the back would fit if I used the aftermarket grilles. But the guy said the ones I wanted for the front were "top mount only". This a noob question, but what does that mean?

My front speakers now are mounted in the kick panels, and they are like under the carpet. The rear ones, I would just have to use the aftermarket grilles instead of the factory grilles.

The models I am looking at specifically are these....

Front 4x6----Pioneer TS-A4670R

Rear 6x9-----Pioneer TS-A6991R or the Pioneer TS-A6981R

According to crutchfield.com, my car will accept 4x6 or 4" in the front. So if these speakers would not work, anyone have any recommendations on some other 4x6 or 4" Pioneers that would work? Or how could I make those work? My system is currently all stock, except my head unit, which is a Pioneer DEH-1500. So kind of would like to keep it all in the same brand/line. Thanks.