Amplifier Comparison: MTX Thunder 4202 VS Pioneer GM-X402

Participant count
  • Participant list

Jodhvir Minhas

CarAudio.com Newbie
Canada
Hey all, good to be on the forum. I'm a newbie to car audio, so I came to ask for some help. I'd like to upgrade the audio system in a recent new purchase; a 1996 Honda Accord.

I have some old amplifiers laying around from previous builds, as my uncle used pay for professional installations. But, this time around I'd like to try upgrading the system on my own and increase my knowledge on car audio and HiFi audio as a whole.

So, I came to ask if anyone could help me compare these two old amplifiers laying around and see if I could honestly still make use of them. The amplifiers are an MTX Thunder 4202 and a Pioneer GM-X402. Ultimately, is one better than the other?

I haven't bought any other equipment yet, seeing as I had these laying around and wanted to start with the amplifiers first. For context, I'd like to upgrade all 4 speakers in the car and add a subwoofer. I know these are both only 2-channel amplifiers, so I'm wondering if this causes some trouble. Also, I want to be able to keep the original head-unit; I have a huge cassette collection and still use them regularly. I plan to just use an FM transmitter for things like Bluetooth or USB connection.

Any advice is much appreciated as I really don't know where to start!

Last edited:
First off, get yourself one of these:

Convert all your aging tapes to CD then you;re not limited on HUs you can source. I did this years (with Elite PDR-99/ Elite Cassette) ago and never looked back.

As for the two amplifiers, the Pioneer wins in this face-off. That said, you really need to nail a few things down. Which accord, sedan,coupe, trim.

You could use both the amps for front an rear speakers, or sell them both and get a something like this for $85