Dual Amp question.

Participant count
  • Participant list

NorseForce

Hey guys I just want to make sure that I am not damaging anything with this setup. I have zero experience with installing car stereos previous to this so I have a few questions.

I have a 2014 ford focus and I recently installed a powered sub JBL gt bass pro 12 . Alpine 610c and an Alpine KTP445U to power the 610c.

So what I did was install the 455u amp to power the front speakers and then tap off the rear speakers via line out converter to install the JBL sub, which has its own onboard amp. Is this bad for the powered sub since the RCA inputs going to the sub are already sending an amplified signal from the 445u amp because I am using a LOC tapping off the rear speakers? Is this bad for the sub and does it degrade the sound output from the sub?

Any insight on this will help. THANKS!

What kind of head unit are you using? Does it only have one set of rca pre outs? If so, get a set of "y" rca connectors (single male to dual female) and plug those into the head unit. From there, run one set of rca's to the jbl amp and the other set to the Alpine amp. You are sending way too much power through that loc.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hey guys I just want to make sure that I am not damaging anything with this setup. I have zero experience with installing car stereos previous to this so I have a few questions.
I have a 2014 ford focus and I recently installed a powered sub JBL gt bass pro 12 . Alpine 610c and an Alpine KTP445U to power the 610c.

So what I did was install the 455u amp to power the front speakers and then tap off the rear speakers via line out converter to install the JBL sub, which has its own onboard amp. Is this bad for the powered sub since the RCA inputs going to the sub are already sending an amplified signal from the 445u amp because I am using a LOC tapping off the rear speakers? Is this bad for the sub and does it degrade the sound output from the sub?