I Made A Mistake.... too much power. help please

Nico Koutouzis
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
Hey guys I bought type r components and coaxials, but I made the stupid mistake of buying an mb quart that puts out 125 watts per channel when the coaxials can only handle 100. Now I am thinking that I should have bought the 4x80 mb quart amp. Is there any way I can set all the filters/gains/ whatever else the amp has to allow only 100 watts out at full tilt? I really dont want to blow anything haha. (ik im a noob just help me and dont bash)

Thanks

Yeah, You dont have to run the gains to where the amp is putting out max wattage. Just back off them a little. In this hobby is better to buy with overhead so you can upgrade components down the road and dont have to buy another amp.

The gain isn't an output knob...it is a voltage input matching device. He'll still be putting whatever that amp will truly put out, but as long as it isn't clipped, he shouldn't have any probs with them. We always run 3-4x RMS on mids/highs and are just very careful with both gains, and crossover settings.

what head unit do you have? normally setting the gain to match your HU MAX rca voltage output is a good rule of thumb, lets say its 2v. setting your gain to anything under 2v like 1v will cause distortion at higher levels, setting your gain to 3v or 4v will cause your amplifier to output less "power" as its waiting for a 3 or 4v signal that will never come from your headunit. hope i helped in any way. a little knowledge on what exactly a "gain" control is goes a long ways. i hate it when people think its a volume control knob.

I dont even think the onyx 4.125 has a gain control. I dont see it anywhere
FAIL.

do you not have eyes?

onx4125.jpg

its marked LEVEL, its to the left of the BASS EQ KNOB.