Looking for a new amp in a noisy car

Participant count
  • Participant list

Speedwagon

1987 Subaru Brat, currently setup with an Eclipse 3242 (I've had this thing forever) pushing 2 ID CTX 6.5 4 ohm door speakers.

I've noticed lately that when I have everything open, I'm getting a bit of distortion at a level when I can actually hear the speakers (windows down, tops up, back window open makes for a lot of wind noise). The 3242 has been going strong, but I think it might be on its way out. It also hisses when it is cold out in winter.

Been thinking of moving to a cheaper($100-200) class D full range 2 channel. I think I'd be hard pressed to hear a difference in this vehicle with a higher priced amp, but I've never used a class D before. These didn't exactly come from the factory as a quiet vehicle either.

Something like a Polk PA D2000.2, which is only $125 on Amazon. This also, theoretically, doubles the power to the speakers from the 3242.

I should add, I'm also looking to decrease the physical size of the amp. The 3242 takes up the whole floor under the passenger seat, and I really want something much smaller since this is such a small car.

Thoughts or suggestions?

1987 Subaru Brat, currently setup with an Eclipse 3242 (I've had this thing forever) pushing 2 ID CTX 6.5 4 ohm door speakers.
I've noticed lately that when I have everything open, I'm getting a bit of distortion at a level when I can actually hear the speakers (windows down, tops up, back window open makes for a lot of wind noise). The 3242 has been going strong, but I think it might be on its way out. It also hisses when it is cold out in winter.

Been thinking of moving to a cheaper($100-200) class D full range 2 channel. I think I'd be hard pressed to hear a difference in this vehicle with a higher priced amp, but I've never used a class D before. These didn't exactly come from the factory as a quiet vehicle either.