Need help with setup, I'm completely new to this:

brancaster
10+ year member

florida
Hey everyone,

First off let me say that I'm completely new to this so bear with me.

What I need help with is determining everything I need for a complete setup that sounds good.

What I have right now is:

Two 12-inch Arsenal Speakers

&

Two amplifiers (one works perfectly, the other only runs at half power)

So what else do I need to complete the setup?

I need help with everything down to the gauge of wiring I need.

Also, if it helps any, the system will be going into a Mazda 3.

Thanks to anyone who can help.

you need a wiring kit. depending on your wattage, depends on gauge of wire. i have 6 gauage running about 800 watts..

upping to 0 gauge for 2200, 1 run of 0 gauge is good for about 3000 watts, if your lucky.

so, you need a power wire,

ground wire,

remote wire,

RCA's,

should do the BIG 3.

Do you already have a box for the subs ?

Do you know the rms power of the 2 amps? This would be actual power not the inflated number on the box they came in more likely in a manual or just give me the fuse rating that will give you a maxium power the amp could supply

Have you looked at door speakers? Components tend to be a much better sound than coaxial but they do require a bit more space and sometimes planning

Have you picked out a headunit? This is something not to go cheap on a cheaper headunit will affect the sound of the overall setup

the full power amp would not be nearly enough power to power these subs. You need roughly 700 rms watts since each sub is rated at 350. bridged that amp does 200. Also depending on what kind of head-unit you want will depend how much you will spend.

Rebel,

Is there anyway I can check the functionality and power of the amps? I was told when I got them that one was half power. If it is, can I fix it?

You don't need 700 W RMS to power the subs, less power means lower volume, even 350W RMS is only 3dB quieter.