2008 Accord Coupe

katodevin
10+ year member

--- Disclaimer ---

I am also posting this to the Accord forums, which is why some of the content is a bit "dummied" down.

I am not a professional. I am doing this in my spare time for fun. I'm glad to answer any questions you have. Please keep the haterade to a minimum.

This is going to be my worklog for my 2008 coupe. I will be updating it regularly.

My goal is to achieve the best SQ I can without getting ridiculously expensive. I saved money by purchasing cheap amps and sub. I don't care about SPL, so I don't need a ridiculous sub setup. My interior speakers are much more important to me, which is why I spent the cash for the Polyglasses and the Pioneer HU. From my experience, the quality and care of the install is much more important than the gear used. You can make 2 grand components sound like crap if you don't install them properly.

I mostly listen to punk, dance, and hip hop, with a good amount of 80s. So I need a system that is flexible and able to reproduce those genres well. I know the car is a very imperfect listening arena, but I set out to try and emulate my studio monitors at home.

I will be updating this post/thread as I go along with my install.

Head Unit - Pioneer deh880prs

Front Stage - Focal Polyglass 165cv1

Rear Stage - Phoenix Gold RSD65

Sub - Alpine Type E 12

Amps - 1 Power Acoustik 150x4 /// 1 Power Acoustik 90x2 Bridged @ 240x1

Deadening - Raammat and Ensolite

Rear Deck -

The first thing I decided to tackle was deadening the rear of the car. Just because... not in any particular order. Took out the rear deck, and applied deadening to the underside of the plastic cover. The Raamat is designed to add mass, and stop rattles and reverberation, not to absorb sound. Ensolite is designed to absorb soundwaves, and I will be installing that later onto the rear deck.

1znwtiq.jpg

zim046.jpg

2vn2nf7.jpg

Rear Grills + Speakers -