Changing it up - Suggestions for a set of 6.5" component 2-ways

Participant count
  • Participant list

Cliff459

So, I have a set of PHD FB 6.1 PRO in the front doors of a Toyota Tacoma (standard cab), driven by an older JL 300/2 amp. Head unit is a Pioneer DEH-PRS80. I LOVE the PHD fiberglass 6.5" mid-woofer, it performs excellent on hard rock drums and guitar (my main program material), but the tweeter set kind of loses it when you start to drive it hard on the kind of music I normally listen to on my daily drive. I did not get the FB 6.1 PRO tweeter, I got the PHD AF 1.1TW set instead (at the suggestion of the extremely helpful and nice Mike Allen!), and on dance music or anything like that it is a truly stunning setup. So, here's some new speakers I have been looking at, budget is $500 or less:

CDT Audio ES-62AS.2 (on sale now, but still top range of budget!)

Image Dynamics XS-65

Hertz HSK-165.4

Morel Tempo Ultra 602

RE Audio XXX-6.5C

I have not heard any of these above, so I was hoping anyone here could share their personal experience with any of the above. Also, anything you really like in the price range but is not listed is very welcome, too. I'm not a huge car stereo guy, most of my audio experience is in the recording studio (place I work has a set of Genelec 1038B mains, pretty good set of speakers), so my ears are fairly discerning, I guess. Thanks for any opinions!

There's not a problem with your tweeters. Highs are dominated by reflections. Control them and you control the tweeter. Take that $500 and find a place that can optimize your install. If not you will just be wasting money.

Thanks for all the replies! I didn't really push the replacement of the tweeters too far in my mind, looks like I'll explore my options there.