dumb question about headers/exhaust

That is actually opposite of how is usually happens. Long tube headers tend to give you much better long end grunt while shorties are just more convenient on newer vehicles because of the restricted engine bay space. You sacrifice a bit of performance with shorties but will be much easier to install.
not on a 5.7L, could be all dependent to tubing and cross-sections, h-pipe, mufflers etc... To many variables, and from just swapping to shortys and 2.5" pipe, y-pipe, on the same muffler I gained about 8% ftlb torque. And shaved a little of my 1/4 ET runs. Granted it was only ran on the Dynojet.

so it'll go something like this:
longtube headers--->to dual in/single out muffler---> dumped

Do I need anything to convert the headers to run into 1 muffler? Or will they connect right up? Sorry for all the dumb questions, im an exhaust newb
should work.. look into some flowmaster super 40's. They have the deep tone thats quite suttle at idle.

this is another dumb question, when the headers run into the muffler, do the headers run along the same side of the truck?
what do you mean? you will most likely have to get some new motor mounts since you will more than likely have to move your engine from side to side to get them in. from there, you can tow it to a muffler shop and have them bend and weld you up some pipe and dump it after the axle.

Each header will be on its own side and the tubing will then need to be bent into place. Make sure you get good gaskets and header bolts.

I havent seen a truck lately but on the 4th gen f bodies after the collector, the exhaust routes the same as stock. Noise will depend on things like cats, resonators and mufflers. All and all with a cat in place and a quality muffler you can have a great growl without being annoying.