Explorer speakers

Participant count
  • Participant list

David19
10+ year member

Epic Thread Poster
Pensacola FL
I have a ford explorer the back speakers are blown... what would you guys suggest be some good quality loud sounding speakers? i'm gettin some subs in the future and want the sound to be heard over the subs lol.. i'm a newbie at audio..

U plan on amping them or just HU power? What is the stock size speaker I assume 6x9 or 5x7's right? I would go with a good 6.5 coxial but I will wait for ur reply to say anymore.

Willing to use adapter plates to run 6.5's or just wanting to do a simple 6x8 swap? I mean hell even using a adapter plate might add 1 min to ur install time so either one is simple. I assume you have a aftermarket HU?? Also, if your going to just use HU to power the speakers it really dosent matter what you get as they will have no chance on keeping up with any sub stage. I mean even if you just went with a 10" in a sealed box with 200watts its still going to overpower the door speakers with only 12-20 watts just a thought.

i'm looking at infinity components and 6x8 for the back and power them with a amp but what would be the best amp to get for the speakers so they dont blow them lol?

im gonna be getting a pioneer double din HU just havnt decided which one yet

Where are the speakers located in the back? are they all the way behind the rear seats or are they just in the rear doors? Either way, I personally suggest just removing the rear speakers and getting a component set of 6.5"s for the front with an amp on them. I only have front speakers, I have only had front speakers since the day I first tried it. No one in the rear has ever complained about not being able to hear the music. A good front stage will be enough if you do a decent install and have some more power on them than the HU is putting out