Smelly voice coil... Am I screwed?

Participant count
  • Participant list

Zackster

Alabama
So I started to smell this strange smell that was unmistakably burning electronics... I was very sad to find out that it was my sub emitting the smell. Just for the record, it is a Pioneer ts w303r champion 12 250 watt rms 1200 watt max 4 ohm SVC. The amp I was running it on was a Crunch Powerzone pzi 2250 2 channel amp. According to usedprice.com, it is 250 watt x 2 RMS @ 4 ohm. I obviously have the sub hooked up in parallel to amp. Will 500 watt rms @ 4 ohm amp burn a 250 watt rms @ 4 ohm voice coil? I'm new to car audio so please, if you could, go easy on the insults lol... From what I could tell the sub was still working fine when I took it out of the box and when I push in the cone I don't hear any scratching or popping.

Sub is on it's way out. Doubling the wattage a sub is rated for can certainly blow a sub. More importantly there is no real way to determine what your amp is actually putting out. Those amps are known not to do close to rated power and more importantly they clip and burn up subs. Getting into car audio there is a lot to learn. Especially aboit quality of certain brands and which ones to look out for.

Well, I actually have two of these subs and I was looking at the Rockford Fosgate R500X1D. If I were to hook both of the subs in parallel to this amp it would be 2 ohms on the amp. The amp is rated at 500 Watts x 1 @ 2-Ohms. That would match the subs perfectly. Do you think I could still get some life out of that sub if I did this?